A virtuoso performance – Russell Miller at the Stephen Lawrence Centre

On a lovely autumn day in October, an enthusiastic group of some 60 tree enthusiasts from Lewisham and outlying areas gathered at the Stephen Lawrence Centre in Brookmill Park, Deptford for an absolutely virtuoso lecture and guided talk by Russell Miller, a hugely experienced arboriculturalist and ecologist, Chair of the Ancient Tree Forum and coordinator of Tree Musketeers in Hackney.In the ...

In memory of civilians who lost their lives through enemy air raids in Deptford, Hither Green and Sydenham in World War l

There will be an exhibition at the Deptford Lounge, Giffin  Square, SE8 4RJ, Monday 10th December – Saturday 12th January in memory of civilians who lost their lives through enemy air raids in Deptford, Hither Green and Sydenham in World War lOn display will be the information panels about the Hither Green, Sydenham and Deptford ...

No more Farmers’ Market

The support of the farmers’ market, particularly Whitegates Farm in Kent, has meant that we’ve had some regular funding for our smaller projects. We’ve been able to purchase wild flower seeds for the WWI memorial for the last five years, we’ve sown seed and planted yellow rattle plugs in the Southern Meadow. We’ve bought bird ...

Quaggy Print Makers & Friends in the Ladywell Chapel

REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENT SUNDAY 11th NOVEMBER 2018

Friends of Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries (FoBLC)REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENTSUNDAY 11th NOVEMBER  10.45am – 12.15pm approxMeet at the Ladywell Cemetery Cross of SacrificeThere will be a brief introduction to the significance of the eventFollowing the 2 minute silence:Wreath laying at the Cross of SacrificeLadywell CemeteryWalk to the Brockley War Memorial viathree relevant memorialsincluding 2nd Lt. T. A. ...

Autumn festivals – Feast of St Gregorios and Halloween

The end of October/beginning of November is a time for many religious, spiritual and popular festivals - Halloween, All Saints Day, Bonfire Night etc. I stumbled across one of the lesser known ones this weekend when I saw a procession heading over Telegraph Hill carrying banners and singing hymns.procession in Gellatly Road SE14 I believe the procession was ...

Thomas Archie Challis MC (1893 to 3rd Nov 1918), 2nd Lieutenant 13th Tank Corps, A Coy

Thomas Archie Challis was born in Walworth in 1893 to parents Charles and Rosa. He had two elder brothers - William and Charles, a younger brother Harold and sister Isabel. Charles, Thomas' father worked as a general labourer and then as a sewerman or flusher for London County Council.Thomas is recorded as living at 8 ...

REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENT

Friends of Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries (FoBLC)REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENTSUNDAY 11thNOVEMBER   10.45am – 12.15pm approxMeet at the Ladywell Cemetery Cross of Sacrifice There will be a brief introduction to the significance of the event Following the 2 minute silence:Wreath laying at the Cross of Sacrifice Ladywell CemeteryWalk to the Brockley War Memorial viathree relevant ...

The Boy who Stole Time – book launch at Crofton Books

'The Boy who stole time' is a new  young people's fantasy novel by Ladywell-based author Mark Bowsher (publicity says 'for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pulman'). A book launch and reading is taking place on Sunday 28th October, 3 pm, at Crofton Books, 375 Brockley Road SE4 2AG. That's the excellent value second hand bookshop ...

More New Cross Faces from 1860s to 1900s

As mentioned before, I periodically look on Ebay and similar sites for interesting local photos (the ones here are all currently on sale, click links for futher details). I am particularly fascinated by the products of photographers' studios, of which there were a number on the New Cross Road in the Victorian/Edwardian era.The first photo ...