REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENT SUNDAY 11th NOVEMBER 2018

Friends of Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries (FoBLC)REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENTSUNDAY 11th NOVEMBER  10.45am – 12.15pm approxMeet at the Ladywell Cemetery Cross of SacrificeThere will be a brief introduction to the significance of the eventFollowing the 2 minute silence:Wreath laying at the Cross of SacrificeLadywell CemeteryWalk to the Brockley War Memorial viathree relevant memorialsincluding 2nd Lt. T. A. ...

Autumn festivals – Feast of St Gregorios and Halloween

The end of October/beginning of November is a time for many religious, spiritual and popular festivals - Halloween, All Saints Day, Bonfire Night etc. I stumbled across one of the lesser known ones this weekend when I saw a procession heading over Telegraph Hill carrying banners and singing hymns.procession in Gellatly Road SE14 I believe the procession was ...

Thomas Archie Challis MC (1893 to 3rd Nov 1918), 2nd Lieutenant 13th Tank Corps, A Coy

Thomas Archie Challis was born in Walworth in 1893 to parents Charles and Rosa. He had two elder brothers - William and Charles, a younger brother Harold and sister Isabel. Charles, Thomas' father worked as a general labourer and then as a sewerman or flusher for London County Council.Thomas is recorded as living at 8 ...

REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENT

Friends of Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries (FoBLC)REMEMBRANCE and ARMISTICE DAY EVENTSUNDAY 11thNOVEMBER   10.45am – 12.15pm approxMeet at the Ladywell Cemetery Cross of Sacrifice There will be a brief introduction to the significance of the event Following the 2 minute silence:Wreath laying at the Cross of Sacrifice Ladywell CemeteryWalk to the Brockley War Memorial viathree relevant ...

The Boy who Stole Time – book launch at Crofton Books

'The Boy who stole time' is a new  young people's fantasy novel by Ladywell-based author Mark Bowsher (publicity says 'for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pulman'). A book launch and reading is taking place on Sunday 28th October, 3 pm, at Crofton Books, 375 Brockley Road SE4 2AG. That's the excellent value second hand bookshop ...

More New Cross Faces from 1860s to 1900s

As mentioned before, I periodically look on Ebay and similar sites for interesting local photos (the ones here are all currently on sale, click links for futher details). I am particularly fascinated by the products of photographers' studios, of which there were a number on the New Cross Road in the Victorian/Edwardian era.The first photo ...

Rubber Johnny revival

We've mentioned late 1970s/early 1980s band Rubber Johnny before, including their residency in that period at the Royal Albert pub. Led by singer John Turner, the band grew out of the Deptford Albany and The Combination, the radical theatre project based there. They've started playing again recently and have gigs coming up this weekend (Friday ...

‘Today South London, Tomorrow South London’ – Deserter book launch

Since it started in 2014, South London site Deserter has been a refreshing slacker voice as 'the voice of degeneration... an aspirational lifestyle website for those with a predilection for doing f**k all'. Most recently this has included a guide to all of SE London Wetherspoon pubs.Now they have book coming out- Today South London, ...

The Press Art School, Forest Hill (1905-1960)

An interesting find on a second hand stall in Lyme Regis over the summer was this brochure for The Press Arts School, a correspondence course in drawing run from Forest Hill. The brochure is undated but internal evidence suggests it was published during or shortly after the First World War.The Press Art School was established ...

Remembering Private Elkins, torpedoed on the R.M.S Leinster 10th October 1918 in ‘ Ireland’s worst maritime disaster’

Located on the berm that lies between the two cemeteries on the Ladywell side pathway is found the Elkins family grave. Private Thomas Elkins ( Middlesex Yeomanry) aged 36 years, Husband of Mabel Duncan Elkins, 39, Byne Road, Sydenham, was aboard the Royal Mail Ship ( RMS) Leinster when it was sunk by a German ...