The Boy who Stole Time – book launch at Crofton Books

'The Boy who stole time' is a new  young people's fantasy novel by Ladywell-based author Mark Bowsher (publicity says 'for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pulman'). A book launch and reading is taking place on Sunday 28th October, 3 pm, at Crofton Books, 375 Brockley Road SE4 2AG. That's the excellent value second hand bookshop ...

Crofton Park Trains All Messed Up. Bibbidi bobbidi boo.

"Well, serves you right, spoiling people’s best dreams."- CinderellaUntil now, the Cinderella Line group, which campaigns for a better Crofton Park service, has operated in a parallel universe, where people just ask for things and public transport organisations deliver them promptly and efficiently.Now, thanks to massive disruption on the Thameslink line, they have rejoined the ...

New timetable and more trains for Crofton Park

New trains come into service soonA completely new timetable will apply to Crofton Park trains from Sunday, May 20th.And since there is nothing harder and more confusing than trying to write about train timetables for a service you don't use, the Cinderella Line campaign for better rail services through Crofton Park has summarised it instead. ...

Rebel Base

Barclays Crofton Park to close

It seems @Barclays are closing the Crofton Park branch! 😱 @BrockleyCentral @CroftonParkLife @JaneCanDoSE4 @BeecroftFOBS pic.twitter.com/cWdAwQBgOV— Molewife (@Molewife) March 16, 2018The last bank branch in SE4 will close on July 6th.

You shall go to the ball, four times an hour

The Cinderella Line campaign to improve train services through Crofton Park station will be celebrating a major victory from May, as frequency of service will be increased to four trains per hour during off-peak periods. They explain:Despite a week of snow, nearly 100 local residents braved the weather and made it to the Rivoli Ballroom ...

Close the gap in Crofton Park

Last week, a 41-year-old man was killed at Crofton Park Station, when he was hit by a train. Reader Emily believes this underlines the need to do something about the large gap between the trains and the northbound platform. She writes:"I am always a bit nervous of the gap - it’s huge - when I ...

Campaign group wants to create new Brockley nature reserve

Campaign group The Fourth Reserve Trust exists to create a nature reserve along the Brockley railway cutting. They are campaigning to protect the ancient woodland next to the Crofton Park scout hut, which has been granted 'Asset of Community Value' status. They write:The scout hut, situated on Courtrai Road, is on a strip of land ...

Crofton Park Christmas Tree Transformed

Every year the #CroftonPark tree is an embarrassment - so well done locals who took matters into their own hands and guerilla decorated it last night! @BrockleyCentral pic.twitter.com/TocQSV17St— Jenny Wood (@WoodyJen) December 20, 2017 Finally, the big society steps up!After years of suffering under the dead hand of Lewisham Council, which each December provides the ...

Crofton Park train campaigners aim high

Michael from the Cinderella Line campaign group, which campaigns for better train services through Crofton Park, writes:Thameslink have proposed to run four trains to Crofton Park every hour at the weekend, which is great, but they are suggesting we'll have to wait until December 2018. Bah! Humbug! We think that's way too long to wait.In ...